Thread: How to disable IR receiver in OS X Lion

question How to disable IR receiver in OS X Lion

I have updated my system to mac OS X Lion and I want to disable IR receiver. There was an option for doing the same in snow Leopard in Preferences but the same is missing in OS X Lion. I have tried searching for that option in Lion but I have not found it yet. Since I am new to OS X Lion I think I am missing something. Is there anyone running Lion in their system and has an idea about disabling IR receiver in it?? Any suggestions?

Re: How to disable IR receiver in OS X Lion

As far as I am aware it should be in System Preferences > Security and Privacy > General, the option for disabling Remote Control Infrared Receiver will be on the last page. If you are not finding it out there then you can also enter Remote Control Infrared in search bar after opening System Preferences. If you still do not find it there then you can enable/disable it from the plist configuration file. You can use “sudo defaults write /Library/Preferences/com.apple.driver.AppleIRController DeviceEnabled -bool false” command for disabling it and “sudo defaults write /Library/Preferences/com.apple.driver.AppleIRController DeviceEnabled -bool true” command for enabling it. If you want then you can also check out for IR Receiver under USB after running apple > About This Mac > More Info > System Report. If it is not listed there as well then try resetting SMC or PRAM to get that option. If you are not aware of resetting SMC or PRAM then you can follow the below steps but before resetting them you can try out this:
    First close all the running programs by Command+Option+Esc and after that Log off and log in. now Put the Mac to sleep and wake it and restart the system. When you are done till here then Shut down and unplug the Mac and power it on after some seconds.
    • For resetting PRAM: