Thread: Windows 7 -partial system hang after startup, wireless service & IE involved after update of windows

unsure Windows 7 -partial system hang after startup, wireless service & IE involved after update of windows

Hi everyone first time poster with the strangest problem I have ever seen. I gave in and called microsoft on it...and still don't have an answer, probably shouldn't have let them mess around on the PC (had to repair behind them today...I think) but I'm still new to windows 7 though fairly good on XP and silly me thought they would help.

I have an ASUS laptop that had its motherboard replaced a few months back (which is why a couple of my settings were NOT how I left them and silly/busy me didn't notice and fix them...so windows updates got installed without me knowing what they were and we don't have a restore point. Mea Culpa on that one and I do know better).

The problem seems to have started with windows updates within the last two weeks and the problem is most obvious anytime the computer is shutdown and then turned on and/or if an attempt is made to use internet explorer.

Upon booting the computer we go through a strange sequence of the wireless service (set to automatic) starting on and connected, turning itself off within a brief period of time, allowing a brief repair, failing again, then allowing a real repair after informing me that the service is off. Sometimes it will go down one last time, but after that the repair will stick for hours...and the computer will work almost normally as long as IE is avoided.

Once the service repair sticks it will allow hours of MMORPG gaming, web surfing (firefox), etc. If put to sleep the computer comes back fine. If rebooted the problem reoccurs even in safemode.