Thread: Thunderbolt, Debian and Ubuntu support on MacBookAir 4.1 and MacBookAir 4.2

Thunderbolt, Debian and Ubuntu support on MacBookAir 4.1 and MacBookAir 4.2

hi guys

thought to collect some info on this does nay one here has used Thunderbolt, Debian and Ubuntu support on MacBookAir4,1 and MacBookAir4,2 (2011). Can you share your experience I would like to know about this would be really glad . Need information on the SSD through the AHCI driver , support for the Intel HD graphics plus the new Broadcom Wi-Fi/Bluetooth chipset and booting the laptop in EFI mode.

Thanks in advance

re: Thunderbolt, Debian and Ubuntu support on MacBookAir 4.1 and MacBookAir 4.2

I am a newbie to Linux and that i bought a MacBook Air. Since i'm greatly curious about Linux, i need to put in Ubuntu on my new MacBook Air. I even have no super drive therefore i usesd the USB installation methodology mentioned on the Ubuntu website . However, unetbootin doesn't work on Lion. What am i able to do if i need to put in Ubuntu by using USB thumb drive?

The method that worked for me was to form a USB stick using the technique described in Ubuntu. However, note that this presume that you simply have already got access to a Linux machine - will a disciple assist you out, perhaps. as well note that if you put Ubuntu 10.04 LTS Lucid to form the stick, you will need to repair a bug as described number of people and also facing by me . Finally, note that you will fail else from the USB stick on a MacBook Air unless you add nomodeset to the boot line

I have successfully put in Natty on my MacBook Air. However, are there any ways that to regulate the brightness of the monitor? As well, I followed the instruction to put in the Ubuntu website however multitouch still does not work.