Thread: How to set up wireless internet on Linux Mint 12

How to set up wireless internet on Linux Mint 12

I have recently installed Linux mint 12 on computer system and I am a newbie to Linux. Previously I had windows OS and I am able to manually set up the wireless internet on my system but now for the Linux mint 12 I am proving it difficult to set up the wireless internet so if anyone knows how to set up wireless internet on my Linux then please recommend me.

Re: How to set up wireless internet on Linux Mint 12

If you want to set up wireless internet in you Linux mint 12 then you should follow the steps .
    1.plug your router in the internet socket of your computer and then plug your router into your pc using the Ethernet cable.
    2now go to your browser and enter the IP address like 192.168.0.1 whichever address the web server is listening.
    3 first enter your user name and password from your router and then from your internet service provider.
    4. and finally enable wireless and set your encryption (WEP or WPA) and enter the pass key which is easily memorable for you .
    5. your network should be detected automatically by your distribution and If is not then you should try with Mint Wi-Fi as you are using the linux mint. And once detected you are connected on the network and you can use wireless internet on your computer.

I think you can easily setup the internet connection manually by following these simple steps:
    1.First set up the wireless network on your Linux system then go to network manager and finally select the encryption (WEP or WPA) and enter your pass key. Now you are connected to the network and now you can surf the web with wireless internet connection.

I am also using the Linux OS on my computer and before connecting to the internet can you just explain me the steps for how to connect to the wireless network with my router in Linux, so please help me.