Thread: Medion Akoya notebook with Ubuntu

Medion Akoya notebook with Ubuntu

i am actually new linux user and dont know much about linux. i am just trying to setup Ubuntu in my Medion Akoya notebook. but as i said, i am new with this OS. so i am not understand how can i do this. i just search on google and found many sites but cant get proper help. so i just here to know about this. and one more thing i concern with wireless things. i dont know wireless device will work in linux or not. so please if anyone has any information about this than please provide me the solution.

Re: Medion Akoya notebook with Ubuntu

I bought a medion akoya 10 "that mounts as a wireless card rt2860 who do not want to hear it working. maybe it's the same one that fits the eeepc. I think. I installed ubuntu 8.04 and everything is ok except for this access. I went on the site of Ralink and I downloaded these drivers for linux, in which it is understood that for my chips. I do not know how to make them work. almost two files, a txt file and a bin. some of you must know how to work.

it took me a while to understand and find all the information you need, and now I describe what I did. I would write because I noticed that there is virtually nothing on this driver. then download the drivers rt2860, open terminal, which by default comes into home, and that for example in my case is abc. then take this home as an example. unzip it on the home / abc, then type:

Code:
    tar xvjf 2008_0918_RT2860_Linux_STA_v1.8.0.0.tar.bz2
    enter the folder:

Code:
    cd 2008_0918_RT2860_Linux_STA_v1.8.0.0
    config.mk open the file located in / home/abc/2008_0708_RT2860_Linux_STA_v1.7.0.0/os/linux / with the command:

Code:
    sudo gedit / home/abc/2008_0918_RT2860_Linux_STA_v1.8.0.0/os/linux/config.mk
    and change the lines:

Code:
    # Support wpa_supplicant 
    HAS_WPA_SUPPLICANT 

Native Support for Network wpasupplicant # Maganger 
    N = HAS_NATIVE_WPA_SUPPLICANT_SUPPORT