Thread: UBUNTU 10.04 on Acer 1410

UBUNTU 10.04 on Acer 1410

II recent y brought an Acer 1410 laptop as I previously did not had one and had to constantly depend on my brother laptop for programming and other college related work ‘s and project , I have been using this since a long time and I must say that there are many thing s that I have n ‘t got right , until know I have a windows & pre-installed on this and I want to install Ubuntu 10.04 on this , this the one that our professor told to install but as I am new to such things I have no idea how to install or what is the procedure that I need to follow before install this one .

Re: UBUNTU 10.04 on Acer 1410

I think that you system came with an p reinstalled version of Linux as Acer gives a per installed version of Linux in it, just check that again and post me back , if you still cannot view if that is been installed on your pc then please keep on pressing the down arrow key which is present on the keyboard that you are having . This might stop the booting process and won’t take you to the dual boot layer, I hope this works for you.

Hey, gosh you know my system better than I do, there was a previously installed Linux operating system on my laptop, your tip was really helpful for me, but I know I am facing a problem to update it from the 7.08 version to 10.04 version as we are been suggested to work on the latest stable operating system while this one is quite old, I have updated the operating system with the automatic feature that was available but that I think made many things malfunctioning.