Thread: Can't get my wifi to work in backtrack 5?

Can't get my wifi to work in backtrack 5?

I’m beginner in Linux and I’m new to backtrack 5 also .I have installed the Backtrack 5 on VMware and my wifi card is not working. I’m using wifi card which is having realtek chipset. Backtrack 5 finds the card and recognize the chipset as well but when I try to scan for wireless networks around me. It is not able to find any wireless network around me .there are lot of open wireless network around my place. Can anyone help me? I’m using windows 7 ultimate x64 bit.

Re: Can't get my wifi to work in backtrack 5?

Hey dude I was also facing exactly similar problem. I imagine that your card is an included card and VMware can only support USB wifi cards, if you immediately wish to use the wifi to connect to a network and not use airodump-ng, you can connect with the host Operating System and just try to use bridged network mode hope this will help you to find out the other wireless network available in your place.

You possibly will not contain a wireless card that supports monitor mode or packet injection out-of-the-box on Backtrack 5. Run airmon-ng start [whatsoever iwconfig says is your wireless device] to observe if your wireless card will resolve and will go into monitor mode. Presumptuous it goes into monitor mode, run airplay-ng –test mon0 to see if your card determine and accomplish packet injection. If you plan to do a put with wireless, try to buy good wireless card which support backtrack 5.

According to my friend post all the virtualization application needs to have absolute power over a network interface to utilize it, so except for a hard drive or live unetbootin install you are going to need to go through USB. Just make sure if follow g this route than you have to get a USB network interface card that is fully compatible with Backtrack 5, and save yourself a lot of time. Hope this information helped you.