Thread: How can we store two blocks in one sector?

How can we store two blocks in one sector?

Hi, I have disk related problem. Bye the way I am a student of B.TECH. This year is my second semester. I have keen desire to know about the hardware and operating system. But I don’t have time for exploring on the net. I want to know about the difference between the block size and the sector size of in a hard disk. And also I want to know how can we store two blocks in a one sector? If anyone familiar with problem then please give suitable answer.

Re: How can we store two blocks in one sector?

I think the path size depends on the density of the disc. It may differ between disks even of the equal size in GB.When a configure function sets the block size, it is truly just setting the number of sectors per block. As I said earlier, a sector is 512B; therefore if you place the building block size to "4096", you are telling four sectors for each block. So you can see the answer on this problem. I hope that you will satisfy with my reply, if you have still any doubt then you can ask me.

According to me it noised like an examination paper question. Let me provide you a not so fine clue, that will still permit you to appreciate it, and answer the question yourself. A block is made of a only one, or a number of sectors. To be of a legal size, a block must fit the following formula:
    Block size = Sector size * n
    All you want to do is plug in the numbers, and if n comes out as an integer, the block size is legal. If it comes out as a part, or with a decimal; it is not applicable.