Thread: Two copies of Win 7 on same HDD

Two copies of Win 7 on same HDD

I purchased a new HDD for my computer. It is theHitachi 7K1000.C. I installed drive (both of the drives are SATA 3.0). I didn't partition it since I am intended to utilize my 320G WD to accomplish my back-ups on. After that I downloaded DriveImage XML as well as copied an image of the previous drive to the Hitachi. After that I went to BIOS and put the Hitachi as Disk 1 and WD as Disk 2. I after that tried to restart and got the error which says BOOTMGR is missing. Therefore I place in my recovery disc and did repairs. I booted up over again and now I have two edition of Windows 7 on similar HDD. When I select one and boot up and go to the Performance then it have WD listed like the main drive. Please tell me that how can I take the additional copy out of my drive?

Re: Two copies of Win 7 on same HDD

I'm not very good at what amounts to a dual boot set. Anyway you can try the following and see if that can help. First remove the old disk. (By the way you left it in its original port by adding a new unit?) This preserves its integrity. After that reboot the system with the new drive installed. However, if you can boot that way to try a system restore to a point before adding the second instance of the operating system. That should leave a single instance of Windows 7 in the new unit.

Your original disk is the Western Digital. Its contents consisted of everything. You added in the new Hitatchi and put a copy of your old drive onto it, including OS, etc? Got an error on boot, used the recovery CD and now you have multiple versions of Windows 7 that it asks you to decide between? A screenshot of your Disk management screen would be helpful to narrow down this problem. The only way to get rid of an OS completely is to reformat the drive, or if it is partitioned, reformat the partition. But we can decide the course of action possible when we know a bit more.