Thread: "Items not found. Verify the item's location and try again" error message while renaming folders in Windows 7

"Items not found. Verify the item's location and try again" error message while renaming folders in Windows 7

Hi, I just got my new Dell laptop. It is running 64 bit version of Windows 7 Pro Operating system. I am a newbie so I don’t have much computer knowledge, especially not of Windows 7 OS. Recently when I tried to rename few folders, I was surprised to get “Item not found. Verify the item's location and try again” error message. The error message was having the option of “Try Again” and “Cancel”. Whenever I tried to click on “Try Again” button the same error message is displayed again and again. Does anyone have any idea what must be causing this error message to pop up? Please help!!

Re: "Items not found. Verify the item's location and try again" error message while renaming folders in Windows 7

I am not sure about this, but the reason behind this problem would be some Microsoft Windows update. You might have kept Automatic Update ON and new updates might have got installed in your system. So I would suggest you to undo the changes and check whether your problem is solved or not. You can do System Restore by doing the following:
    • Click on the Windows Orb (Start button) and search for System Restore. Double click System Restore option from the list to start the System Restore window.
    • Enter the Admin password when prompted to start the System Restore application.
    • Follow the on-screen instruction to select the Restore point to which to want to restore your system and click Next to finish the task.
    • Windows will by itself complete the system restore.
    • It will prompt for restart, so just do it.

Re: "Items not found. Verify the item's location and try again" error message while renaming folders in Windows 7