Thread: How to setup Root password

How to setup Root password

I just installed Mint, and the initial thing I did at what time I was able to log in was to alter the password for the root account by means of term. On the other hand, at what time I run any gui based application that need important rights I am forced to make use of the password that I typed at the time of installation. I know the answer must be easy, but as I am new to Linux I do not too much idea of it. I cannot figure it out. Can any person help me out to get rid of this issue? Your suggestion would be appreciated.

Re: How to setup Root password

I am fairly new to the Linux and ubuntu as well. Just installed ubuntu on my Samsung Notebook R540.During installation it did not inquire for setting up root user or else I did not detect with the enthusiasm of entering into a new world!My prime login has got administrative rights on my system on the other hand this password does not give permission for the root.How can I acquire my root password reset? Do I require installing it all once more and cautiously looking for some alternative? please advise.

I do not know how you altered the root password, in view of the fact that there is no root account enabled on Mint, or else any Ubuntu-based distro. The whole thing makes use of sudo to perform administrative tasks, making use of only your prime user password. All subsequent users formed do NOT have this right, except if you purposely enable it, as a result the first user's password is used for administrator tasks. There is not any root account.