Thread: Change shell variable on Linux mint

Change shell variable on Linux mint

I am simply new user of Linux mint. I have some knowledge of environmental variables available on Linux. I want to know that is it possible to change the environmental variables in Linux surrounding. I only know that Linux operating system uses batch shell as its default environment. Is there any way? By means of which I can change its environmental variables. I ask many people about this, but I can’t get any desirable answer. If is there anybody? Who knows simple answer for It. Reply as soon as possible I keen to know that.

Re: Change shell variable on Linux mint

Yes! You have right information about Default environment used by Linux. It is Bash shell. Environmental variables in bash shell help you in several ways. Certain Built-in variables change the shell in ways that make life little easier, and you can define other variables to suit your own purpose. To change the default Environmental variables I advise you to use Amazon mechanical Turk’s command line tool. Their instructions mentioned in their set-up guide say to do the two things mentioned below:-
    Set the MTURK_CMD_HOME environment variable to point to your Command Line Tools installation location.

Set the JAVA_HOME environment variable to point to your Java Standard Edition Runtime Environment that is nothing but JRE installation location.
    I hope this solution will work for you properly.

After traversing, through many sites with the help of Google. Finally I come across the solution which will definitely solve your issue regarding changing the environmental variables available on Linux as default variables. You just need to write in your Linux console the following code which I am sure definitely works for you, for changing environmental variables.

Set the PATH environment variable to include the directory where you installed the Ant bin directory: export PATH=${ANT_HOME}/bin:${JAVA_HOME}/bin:${PATH}