Thread: Running bin files on Linux Mint 10

Running bin files on Linux Mint 10

I have recently started with Linux Mint 10 and I am quite new to it. Well my query is that how can I run and install game which contains bin file. I am unable to do anything since I don’t have any idea to begin. I am here because since many of you are familiar with Linux Mint 10. I hope you will definitely help me on this issue. Thanking you in advance. Your response will be highly appreciated. Thanks again.

Re: Running bin files on Linux Mint 10

First of all I should clear that bin files are supposed to run. They are not installed on the system. Well the question is how can you run the bin file? The answer is very simple. Just go into Terminal and change the directory where the file is saved using the cd command. To open the Terminal you have to click on Mint and the go for the Accessories and then click on the Terminal. Now try to execute the. /filename. If any error occurs then I am it definitely due to some permission issue. You have to simply change permission setting by using the chmod a+x filename command. Make sure that you are login in to system as root. Once you have completed with permission change you can try to run desired file.

Well I was also facing the same problem while running the bin files on my Linux Mint. I tried lots of stuffs but nothing of them helped me. My friend told me a trick and magically it worked for me. Please follow the instruction that I am mentioning below. It will work for you if you have placed your bin file on the desktop. Simply right click on the blank space of the desktop. Run the terminal. Now type sh xxx.bin command on the terminal and press enter. I hope it will solve your problem. Please fill free to ask if you have any query about the solution.