Thread: Linux Mint 9 VS Linux Mint 10

Linux Mint 9 VS Linux Mint 10

Currently I am using a Linux Mint 8 on my desktop system and I guess it would be supported till this April after which I am looking forward to install the latest version or may be 9th version if there are much problems in using the latest one. Can somebody tell me that which should I install on my machine as I am a newbie to this operating system and loved the 8th version but if I install the Linux Mint 10 then it might not be possible to install a bit older then the current one. So please suggest me better opinion and what are differences between these both the versions of an operating system?

Re: Linux Mint 9 VS Linux Mint 10

The first was last November the world the latest version of Linux Mint 10 aka "Julia". The aesthetics and ergonomics are the honor points for this release.

Home Screen now offers two new possibilities are adding multimedia codecs (Add Multimedia Codecs) and Updated to Version DVD (Upgrade to the DVD Editon). These functions are intended for those whose audio and video codecs (files for playing media files) will not install by default for legal reasons local. To facilitate the identification of software you just installed, a highlight of these was set up. The search function, a feature that I love, you can now, in addition to research software, the availability of software not installed in your deposits and allows the installation of these without having to go through the Manager Software. A search engine is integrated into the menu. It displays the results related to keywords you enter. Different types of searches like Google, wikipedia, dictionary definitions, tutorials and even other Linux users mint are available through the interface. To top it off, the menu now supports bookmarks GTK and GTK themes and size of icons is resizable

Improvements in Linux Mint 10

• Manager software categorizes software and application icons