Thread: Linux: Recently installed apps not showing up in the menu

Linux: Recently installed apps not showing up in the menu

Hello friends, I am right now working with the Linux Operating system and I am very new to Linux. I have used the package manager to set up several applications however they are not displayed in the menu. When I attempt to insert a latest thing there do not show up as being available. Rather in windows XP and so on the applications are within the program files directory. Although where are they in Linux OS. And after running the mint update my VMware virtual box XP doesn't work anymore moreover. Please help me.

Re: Linux: Recently installed apps not showing up in the menu

You regularly simply have to right click on the menu push button and choose reload plugins to perceive the installed application displayed on the menu. Occasionally you have to insert a launcher in the menu by yourself. One of the better instances of that is adding up ligthtscribe simple menu. Here is that: Go to the Downloads part from lightscribe and acquire the two deb packages, then twicely click to install. File position: Filesystem/opt/lightscribeApplications/SimpleLabeler
    Now from the Main Menu, click on to the System option and from that select the Preferences, in that go at the Applications click Accessories to the left, then to the right hit New Item.