Thread: Confused with Dual Boot on two different partition

Confused with Dual Boot on two different partition

I am using Windows XP. It is a old system and I am really fed up with those daily threats.I am looking for a new experience or tired of viruses, spyware, Trojans invading my PC. In a month atleast one time I need to format and reinstall my system. Even in such a paid software the issue is just hectic. I am a beginner who wants to install a distribution of GNU / Linux and on the same want to keep Windows in dual boot to Linux. There are many Linux distribution and anyone can be chosen. I will go for the more newest one. Now I have around 250GB of hard drive. This is enough for the disk space. What should I do to begin with dual boot system. In a dual boot system atleast I can have a working system. I found my friend using this and he can also view all the folders of Windows. So that is going to make my job much easier.

Re: Confused with Dual Boot on two different partition

You must first understand about the Linux. The kernal here is a piece of code which is the most important part and it manages the memory and hardware access. The basic commands that revolve around the core, are from the GNU project. GNU tools are essential for the proper functioning of the Linux kernel and that's why we say GNU / Linux. Most Linux distributions are free as Mandriva, Ubuntu, Fedora, OpenSuse, etc. Generally pay distributions include proprietary drivers and / or technical support. GNU / Linux is an operating system ideal for smaller hardware configurations. Install it on a machine aging is often a good solution to give it a small facelift as it can be used, for example, server and / or router, post office or web browsing. For the setup insert the bootable disc and choose the option of Install Linux and Windows side by side. And done.