Thread: How to set files as Hidden/Unhidden in Snow Leopard

How to set files as Hidden/Unhidden in Snow Leopard

I have recently installed a Mac OS X on my laptop and i have figured it out that how you can view the hidden files on your hard drive. Only thing which i don't know is setting by which you can view all the hidden files automatically and similarly how can i make the settings in order to hide the files. After all i am new to this operating system so please help me!

Re: How to set files as Hidden/Unhidden in Snow Leopard

Hide system files is on Mac OS X Snow Leopard 10.6.3 as easy as the invisible Mac OS X display system files. One only needs to enter a line in Terminal and press ENTER so that the system files from Mac OS X Snow Leopard are hidden. Open Terminal.app: Finder - Applications - Utilities - Terminal.app. Now, enter only the one-line command in Terminal.app to hide the system files from Mac OS X. The command to the Mac OS X Snow Leopard is again hidden system files: defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles False; killall Finder. Just press ENTER and the system files from Mac OS X 10.6.3 are hidden.

Now to my folder again as usual. And command lines in the terminal window to copy the two was not very serious. What works are not the numerous references to the Apple support page. The two key commands "sudo. / SetHidden / hidden_MacOS9" are packed differently in Leopard than in Tiger. I then using Pacifist these files from my installation DVD dug out. They have copies in a folder and start from there (other evidence was not the support site). As a result nothing had changed the situation in my folders on.

After searching a bit about the Mac OS X, I have found total three ways by which you can hide the files or folder on your hard driver which has been accessed by using the Mac OS X operating system. I have provided all three of them as follows.
    • The name of the file or folder starts with a "." (Period)