Thread: Unknown Device on Dimension 8100

Unknown Device on Dimension 8100

I have bought this Dell Dimension 8100 and uploaded windows XP on that, I have chosen this because I feel comfortable using XP operating system. So far it is good but the thing is that I am getting error message of unsupported device. This message is displayed in Device Manager. To be honest I am not that technical person to solve this problem all alone hence seeking help from your side.

Re: Unknown Device on Dimension 8100

After you upgrade your Dell Dimension 8100 with Windows XP, you receive an "unsupported device" in Other devices in Device Manager. If you click the right mouse button on the device and then click Properties for the device shows the following properties: Device Type: Other devices. You can still access support E by double-clicking the desktop icon. If reboot does not clear this problem can be repaired, with support E.

This problem may occur if the handler for the button E-media on your computer is not compatible with Windows XP. In this situation, the entry "Device not supported" in the Device Manager Button represents the electronic support is located at the front of the Dell Dimension 8100 computer. Press Support E button to launch the Dell Solution Center.

To resolve this problem, reinstall the version of the Dell Solutions Center that originally shipped with your computer. For more information about how and inquire about the availability of a Windows XP-compatible drivers for the Support button address, contact Dell. To contact Dell, visit the following Dell Web site. Just visit these sites and follow the procedure that is mentioned there and let me know the result.