Thread: How to set up file sharing in Windows XP/Vista/Windows7/Mac

How to set up file sharing in Windows XP/Vista/Windows7/Mac

I am new to the networking part of the computer. The only idea I have that through the network we able to share the images, music, files or folder to the other user computer on the other end side. I want to know the what are the setting steps to file sharing in different operating system like windows xp, windows vista ,windows 7 and on Mac OS. It would me further help me in the future to get the networking done on different operating system.
    Last edited by Artificial-Intelligent; 25-09-2010 at 05:31 AM.

re: How to set up file sharing in Windows XP/Vista/Windows7/Mac

If you want to set the file sharing in the Windows Xp then you have to follow this step. you have to check the computer name and the workgroup of your computer then exposed it to the LAN through which it can be accessed and browse the you have to right click on the my computer and select the properties . If you want to change the computer name or workgroup then you can go to the name change and click on the next button. Then the it will show you the message to restart your computer so just restart it and your file sharing is set.

You can set the file sharing network in windows vista by selecting the folder with the share option by right clicking on it.And it can be also done from the control panel then open the Network and Sharing Center and you have to check the name of the network is public or private network. If you have selected the private network then you have to go to the customize network setting option then select for whom and which location it should be private and then press the OK button and click on Done. You have to put ON the Network discovery, File sharing and at last turn ON the network access then just click apply you will be set with the file sharing network.

Dr. V Guest