Thread: My 500Gig External USB Hard Drive not recognized by 64 bit Win 7

My 500Gig External USB Hard Drive not recognized by 64 bit Win 7

I have 64 bit Windows 7 Operating System running on my system and have a WD External HD that I have been using for the past 8 months on my OS Win 7 32 Bit laptop. It works all right on 32 bit, but when I attach it to 64 bit OS of Windows 7, and then my OS Win 7 fails to identify it and says "USB not recognized". The Disk Management is not showing the External Disk at all. There are no letter Conflicts between Laptop Drive and the External Drive separation. I have updated using Windows Update, and have installed the Hotfix from the Microsoft support. The Drive is Working fine; it’s an OS of Win 7 64 Bit Problem. Please suggest a fix for this so that my External Drive can work properly.

Thanks in advance for any help with this issue.

Dr. V Guest

Re: My 500Gig External USB Hard Drive not recognized by 64 bit Win 7

Hi,
    Is your Hard Disk requiring the extra power supply when you connect it to your system? Or if you find an Unknown Device in the Device manager list, your trouble should be caused by the driver or the damaged USB port in your system. Please connect your Hard Disk through another port as a test and then your Win 7 Operating System will start running on your system along with the WD External Hard Disk.

Yeah, the problem you are having is very easily being recovered; just you have check all the connection setting of both the device properly without any mistake. Because I have also gone through the same kind of problem with my external hard disk during the connection at a very first time with my computer.