Thread: Win 7 video playback error

Win 7 video playback error

Hi newbie here,

I have Windows 7 64 bit installed on my PC & know how it works, I've installed Windows 7 32 bit on my girlfriend's PC but although it's installed ok & everything else works, video files will not play & pictures won't open in the windows picture viewer.

With the pictures, I installed 'full screen image viewer' & they open fine but she would like the windows viewer.

With the avi video files, they open eventually but you can only hear the sound - no video. I updated the video driver & when I tried opening the avi, media player came up with an error message saying 'unable to open because there's a fault with your video card'.

The PC worked fine with XP 32 bit before. Is the PC not compatible with Windows 7?

Anyone any idea how to fix this? Could it be a faulty copy of Windows in which case I'll have to take it back

Thanks

Re: Win 7 video playback error

Its not probably that your PC is not compatible with Windows 7. If it not than there might some problem at the time of installation as well or while the first time you see your Windows 7 desktop. Anyways, in 64 bit operating system, there is very less possibilities of softwares and drivers to work properly. Secondly, if you are getting error while playing avi file in WMP , than to make it work properly you will need to install Klite codec pack first because default WMP is just unable to play avi files.

Re: Win 7 video playback error

Thanks for your reply, it's a 32 bit copy of Windows 7 I've installed. It's my own PC that has 64 bit & that's running fine.

Also, I thought WMP 12 had native AVI playback anyway, my 64 bit edition did & 32 bit version I put on a friend's did?

1st, I've installed various codec packs including K-lite, tried them & WMP still the same, won't play AVI only the sound - codecs not worked so uninstalled them.