Thread: Process priority in Mac OS X

Process priority in Mac OS X

Hello,
    I am using mac OS X and I need a way to manage the running processes on my operating system. How can I manage the process in the system and also how can I set the process priority? In windows operating system I would do it by using the task manager, but in Mac what is the software called. Also, are there any commands which I can use for managing process. Thank you.

Re: Process priority in Mac OS X

Even i am a beginner to Mac OS X, In Mac OS X, there is a command (a program), which allows you to view in Terminal running processes that are running on your Mac. That is all running programs, without exception. Start by typing its name top and then press the enter key, you will see a long list of process running on your system. Though I am not sure how to manage the process from this , but it will definitely show all the process running, stopped and halted on your system.

Yes, I agree with above post.The control top can view different information on the use of the CPU (term for the processor) and memory.

- With the-u option, the items are ordered by cpu usage.
    - If we follow a number of top, then we will see that this number of processes
    - If you type just top, we have the terminal window to be filled.

Also you can see the PID of the process. What can interact with applications that are active, calling them in order by number of IDPs. To exit top, do control c. Please see the man (man top) for more information on the different ratings on the screen. It is interesting to run top in another window (shell) that in which we work, and to attributions a small font size, to watch over the process.

See, if this small piece of code can help you
    Code:
    function GetProcesses: integer;
    var
    i: integer; mib: array [0..2] of clt, len: clt; kp: pchr;

begin
        / / They say what you want to retrieve
        mib[0] : = CTL_KERN; mib[1] : = KERN_PROC; mib[2] : = KERN_PROC_ALL;