Thread: This pre-release version of Windows 7 Ultimate will expire in 0 hours

This pre-release version of Windows 7 Ultimate will expire in 0 hours

Hello, Recently I have started getting message on my Windows 7 ultimate called:

"This pre-release version of Windows 7 Ultimate will expire in 0 hours".

To keep using Windows, back up your files, and then install any edition of Windows 7 Ultimate

It didnt bother me much and I started playing games, surfing the net afterwards for more than 2 hours and nothing happened? As I have installed a legit copy of Windows 7 then I was wondering what happens next or was that just a bug in this version of release? Does anyone have any idea? Thanks

Re: This pre-release version of Windows 7 Ultimate will expire in 0 hours

Have you tried to find out which version or build have you installed on your pc by typing winver in run. In any case if you are using the final version then expiration message should not appear at all. However, can you please tell us if your system is shutting itself down every hour or so, so that we might come to a conclusion that you should be using the RC version of the Windows. This is totally strange.
    DFI LANPARTY SLI-DR
    AMD 64 x2 4800+
    OCZ (2 x 512) DDR600

Hello, can you tell us how did you install your windows os version on your pc? Have you upgraded it from the RC version or so? If you can go into the system properties then you would be able to check the system version that your are using. To do so, first right click on my computer and then choose properties and their you will se a detailed information of your edition. If you are not sure whether you are using the RC version then I suppose you might need to get a RTM version to avoid that message.

If the system is RTM version, you'd better run SFC to check if there are system files corrupted. You can refer to the following KB: