Thread: I am not able to do xcopy in DOS

I am not able to do xcopy in DOS

Hi friends, I am in a trouble please, help me out to fix this kind of problem with my command prompt.
    I am new in using DOS though i use my computer daily but never performed any kind of work in the DOS.
    When i was doing Xcopy using command prompt. At the c:\> prompt when I typed the following command

xcopy /s/y "C:\documents and settings" "D:\documents and settings".

After that i was getting Invalid Parameter i.e -"C:\documents

Thanks in advance for the help.

Re: I am not able to do xcopy in DOS

In Xcopy command, the switches go to the end of the command line, like this given below:

Xcopy "C:\junk\*.*" "D:\junk\" /s /y

This line will copy everything in the junk folder in C: and then to a junk folder in D drive.
    First you have to make a "junk" folder on D: in this issue to work properly.

Every day I do back up of my entire "My Documents" folder to a folder on D drive.

The way I have written it, first time I ran the batch file, it backed up all the entire directory, but next time when I ran it, it backed up only the new files or the files that havebeen updated or changed.
    Now i run it in my shutdown batch file and it backs up few files and takes only a few seconds to run.

Here is the text for the shutdown batch file:

@Echo off
    cls
    xcopy "C:\Documents and Settings\Alex\My Documents\*.*" "D:\My Documents\" /s /y /H /R /D

Remember to Back up my WordPerfect files.
    xcopy "C:\MyFiles\*.*" "D:\MyFiles\" /s /y /H /R /D

Remember to Back up all the files for My Web Page.
    xcopy "C:\My web page\*.*" "D:\My web page\" /s /y /H /R /D

Remember to Back up my email folders and address book.
    xcopy "C:\Documents and Settings\Alex\Local Settings\Application
    Data\Identities\{CC1A6FC7-0D07-4169-865D-56EBDD76EB8B}\Microsoft\Outlook Express\*.dbx" "D:\MyEmailFiles-Backup\" /s /y /H /R /D