Thread: Is Windows 7 Toolkit a Malware

Is Windows 7 Toolkit a Malware

Okay now this is a very strange thing which happened with me two days back.
    I was doing my office work at home on my Computer and suddenly and pop up came from Kaspersky Internet Security Suite saying "An unwanted application
    was going to be executed", and that applications was Windows 7 toolkit 1.8.
    Now I am very new to this operating system and not aware of any application named toolkit. So I clicked on OK and allowed it to get executed.
    And after that I got another pop up from KIS with that same error message that an unwanted application was going to run and this time the application was WinCris SFC.
    Then I checked the Task Manager and there was no operation named Toolkit 1.8 which was running.
    Does any one have any idea if this Windows 7 Tookit is a malware or something.
    Please help, I got many confidential information of my office stored on this system.

Dr. V Guest

Re: Is Windows 7 Toolkit a Malware

Hey now this sounds fishy. At first place you shouldn't have allowed that application to get executed, as you were not aware of any such application. You should always keep in mind that no matter what, never ever run any application or software which you don't know or which is not installed by you on the system.
    And as you said that you got another pop up saying WinChris SFC this looks like there is some malware on your system which is doing this. So the first thing to do is "Don't access Internet" and disconnect your modem/router from the system if have it connected.
    And search for a Malware Removal Software which will help to detect and remove it.

Okay now I am seriously scared. I have disconnected my computer from Internet access. I unplugged the Router which I use to connect to Internet. I have also deleted all the important information after taking a backup of it on an external HDD.