Thread: How to read and write NTFS partition on Red Hat Linux

How to read and write NTFS partition on Red Hat Linux

I have Red Hat Enterprise Linux 4 and Windows XP on my system. Needless to say it is a dual boot system. Well i have a pen drive which is in the FAT32 file system, i can get it detected fine on my Linux operating system. My problem is that the Windows partition which is in the NTFS file system is not detected in Linux. I would appreciate it if you can tell me the direct commands and also if possible provide some direct information to rpms or any other stuff. I would also need the command to execute them as i am a newbie to Linux right now especially in handling the administrative stuff. Looking forward to your replies, thanks in advance.

Re: How to read and write NTFS partition on Red Hat Linux

This looks a bit tricky to do considering you say you are a newbie to administrative things on Linux. In order to access the NTFS partition you need the support for it first. This support should be compiled into the Linux kernel beforehand. Since you do not have it right now then you might need to recompile the kernel to include NTFS support. Linux partitions are ext4 by default. I think a modern operating system based on linux will be shipped with a software to read and write on a NTFS partition. It is something called as ntfs-3g which you can use for the purpose you mentioned in your question.