Thread: Is log management really useful??

Is log management really useful??

Hey guys i have a bit of an unusual question. I use Zenoss to manage my server event logs which is windows based. It has worked well for me till now so i am thinking about adding it to my Linux servers as well. I have a question as to whether it is really useful?? I am yet to proceed to do it so i need to know in advance before whether it is worthwhile. I am talking from an admins point of view here, whether it is really useful in the long term. The admins only look at it should something go wrong or if something goes wrong. Nobody actively monitors the log anyways. Please mention any useful tips/hints if you think it is not necessary to keep logs.

Re: Is log management really useful??

Well you have made an odd statement indeed. There is not much difference between logs generated on windows and Linux if you look at it in the collective and broader sense of practical usage. Being an admin i myself don't have the time to monitor the logs but it is something on my to do list. but maintaining and updating the existing system is much more of a bigger priority then keeping and monitoring the log in my opinion or rather in my case.

I use logwatch on most of my systems with the detail set to 10. It is very much troublesome but it is forwarded towards my mail in box so it's alright for me. One more important issue with respect to log management is rotating the logs, which according to me is required too. I use logrotate which is a very useful application for compressing,mailing,rotation of log files. But keeping an eye on logs is way tedious as an admin once you go past 1 server so it is better to centralize your system log to a fast independent server.