Thread: Install a new kernel in debian

Install a new kernel in debian

Hello
    Firstly, I want to say that I am a beginner in linux. I use Debian that I downloaded recently (Lenny ) and I'm running under Virtual Box with Windows XP 32bit as host. To install a feature of Virtual Box, I have a message in my terminal saying that I'm using kernel 2.6.26-2-686 while feature requires at least 2.6.27. Already, I'm surprised because I thought I installed the latest version of Debian. Then how do I fix and install a 2.6.27 kernel? Is it complicated? What does this imply? Any advice on this.
    Last edited by cyber-noob; 17-12-2009 at 12:08 PM.

Re: Install a new kernel in debian

Hey
    I think you can add backports to your deposit and get the debian kernel 2.6.30. This will be a good ideas to install kernel in your system.
    Code:
    echo "deb http://www.backports.org/debian lenny-backports main contrib non-free">> / etc / apt / sources.list
    apt-get update
    apt-get install linux-image-2.6-686 (or apt-get install linux-image-2.6-amd64)

Hi
    I added the url to my sources.list but apt-get to fail with a timeout. I then created a apt.conf in / etc / apt / and added Acquire:: http:roxy "http://10.0.4.7:80". I have no timeout but failed authentication to the proxy. I try to add my username and my password but my attempts are unsuccessful. My password for the proxy contains an @ I simply can not change it yet. I know the problem is there because the @ sign is just before the identification word. I tried to put% 40 instead, but it does not work either. Any ides on this on solution so that I can get started.

Hi
    I know the problem is there because the @ sign is just before the identification word. I tried to put% 40 instead, but it does not work either.
    Simple supposition but have you tried to escape the @ sign into your password?
    With a "\" for example. I think I did for a password mysql and it worked. I think you can try this and see if it works.

Hi