Thread: Best Linux distro for programmers

Best Linux distro for programmers

Hello to all,
    I am a programmer and I currently use windows for programming. I am trying to switch to linux for my programming now. But the problem is that I am confused to, which linux distro to use for programming. I mean which is the best distro for linux from a programmers point of view. I tried googling it but still there is a confusion in my mind because I have not yet started to use any linux distro yet. so, can any one suggest which is a good linux distro for a programmer. Thanks in advance.

Re: Best Linux distro for programmers

Hi
    You have mentioned that you are a programmer, but you did not mention on which language you work. Never mind, if you are a PHP programmer then almost any linux distribution will work. But my recommendations are Arch,Ubuntu or Debian for the beginners who use linux. If you are a programmer in C or C++ my suggestion will be Gentoo (this is my favorite linux distribution). It is desigend in such a way that all most all the software's required for a programmers are install by default, you will never feel the need to use -devel for external packages because the header comes along whenever you install a package.

Hi
    The above post is great and I think it will be useful to you. If you are a web programmer my suggestions are suing ubuntu, pclinux, debian or mepis. if you are a complete language programmer such as C, C++ or java I prefer you to use slackware or gentoo. You can also use debian because it's apt-get helps in keeping the system up to date. Course portage is really nice also. But I think for a programmer the operating system really never matters. Still, if you are a linux user and a programmer then you have an additional advantage. Any more help needed, do post back.

Hi