Thread: SBS 2008 - Vista client hanging on logon to network

sad SBS 2008 - Vista client hanging on logon to network

Hello,

This is my first sbs 2008 installation, so im just a noob.

I have installed sbs 2008 for a customer. The customer has 10 pc's, 7 of which are running windows xp. The clients running xp are working fine. The first pc that I installed vista on, worked like a dream. i'll call it pc A. The second, pc B, worked pretty good too. The third, pc C, began to give me problems logging on and off. It was taking forever to log on with the user accounts, whereas logging on with an administrator account was no problem. Since then the other two client computers running vista have begun to have similar behaviour. I began suspecting Simply Accounting software that I had installed on all three machines around the same time as the problems began. So going back to pc A, I formatted the drive and reinstalled vista without Simply accounting. Again, it works like a dream. And after trying a few things on B and C, the only issue remaining was that it would take forever to log off. I though I found my problem. A few days later on Monday morning the person using A complained of a 1.5 hr logon. The people using B and C have begun having problems logging on as well. There are other little problems as well. C is not applying mapped drives when the user logs on and, I cannot access the event viewer from the sbs server manager. It says something about a problem with the 'RPC service', the xp pc'x work fine too in this regard.

I've updated all the drivers and windows patches on all computers. Can anybody help me? I've been trying to solve this for nearly a week, and my customer is running out of patience.

Re: SBS 2008 - Vista client hanging on logon to network

Did you try using SBS client setup wizard? May be that would help... do post back...