Thread: sendmail in command line

sendmail in command line

I am new to linux and sendmail. Is there a way to use sendmail in command line? This may be useful.. Thanks

Re: sendmail in command line

You want to send the mails using sendmail from command prompt or you want to read it from command prompt? Or you want to create a bash script to automate sending mails? Please specify the above detail, may be i could help...

I wanted to learn the syntax for the sending and reading mail so that i could create a bash script for the same. I asked for commands and syntax as i wanted to learn from scratch. But if you could provide me with the bash script, i will try to learn it from there too. Thanks...

The sendmail command syntax and usage :

sendmail [-ba] [-bD] [-bd] [-bi] [-bm] [-bp] [-bs] [-bt] [-bv] [-B type] [-C file] [-d X] [-F fullname] [-f name] [-h N] [-M xvalue] [-Nnotifications] [-n] [-Ooption=value] [-o xvalue] [-p protocol] [-q [ time ]] [-q Xstring] [-R ret] [-r name] [-t] [-V envid] [-v] [-X logfile] [address]
    -ba
    Go into ARPANET mode. All input lines must end with a RETURN-LINEFEED, and all messages will be generated with a RETURN-LINEFEED at the end. Also, the From: and Sender: fields are examined for the name of the sender.

-bD
    Run as a daemon in the foreground, waiting for incoming SMTP connections.

-bd
    Run as a daemon in the background, waiting for incoming SMTP connections.

-bi Initialize the aliases database. Root must own and have exclusive write permission to the /etc/mail/aliases* files for successful use of this option.

-bm
    Deliver mail in the usual way (default).

-bp
    Print a summary of the mail queue.

-bt
    Run in address test mode. This mode reads addresses and shows the steps in parsing; it is used for debugging configuration tables.

-bs
    Use the SMTP protocol as described in RFC 821. This flag implies all the operations of the -ba flag that are compatible with SMTP.

-bt