Go Back   TechArena Community > Hardware > Official Kingston Forum
Become a Member!
Forgot your username/password?
Tags Active Topics RSS Search Mark Forums Read

Sponsored Links



fit heatsinks on Kingston RAM

Official Kingston Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 11-07-2014
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 17
fit heatsinks on Kingston RAM
  

I am going to buy new Kingston HyperX Predator 2x4GB RAM very soon and I was thinking if it will be alright to fit heatsinks on this same memory? I have a Arctic CPU Cooler which is not letting big sized RAM. I also have another question regarding whether the specified clock on the RAM with the heatsink will make them overheat too much? If anyone knows what precautions is to be taken, please let me know soon. Thank you

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-07-2014
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,170
Re: fit heatsinks on Kingston RAM

I think that if you are not overclocking your Kingston HyperX Predator RAM too much along with the CPU and GPU, if you have any, then it will be fine and you wont have to put in the heatsinks which is not necessarily needed. I have seen some queries where there was an increase in the temperature because of the extra material on the chips itself. So, I will suggest you to test the RAM first by plugging on the mobo and then check if there is any kind of overheating issue or not.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14-07-2014
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 692
Re: fit heatsinks on Kingston RAM

If there is a problem with the size of the RAM then you can also take a look at the GSkill Tridents RAM. These RAMs are 5.4-tall but there is an upper fin which can be removed easily. After removing it the height becomes onle 3.9mm. Simply remove 2 small screws and slide the upper fin off, but note that the RAM could run atleast 4-5 degrees warmer. Overall the GSkill Tridents RAM runs at very stable rate of 2800mhz on a haswell based computer build. You cannot be more pleased than that.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15-07-2014
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 977
Re: fit heatsinks on Kingston RAM

You can surely purchase RAM with heatsinks if you needed it. But I believe that it is totally a waste of money. You must know that RAM are commodity these days and it really doesnt matter which brand of RAM you want to buy now a days. Most of the RAM performs the same, costs the same and does the same job equally. Kingston usually makes this heatsink included RAM to differentiate itself from the rest of its competitors in the market with some feature that is not offered anywhere else.
Reply With Quote
Reply

  TechArena Community > Hardware > Official Kingston Forum
Tags: , , ,



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads for: "fit heatsinks on Kingston RAM"
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Modding Fan controller leads to overheat Heatsinks Romani Overclocking & Computer Modification 2 17-04-2012 05:18 AM
Need information on CPU heatsinks for Corsair 600T and 650D Mystic01 Hardware Peripherals 5 20-05-2011 10:43 PM
Why does Swiftech continue making heatsinks Tanveer Joshi Overclocking & Computer Modification 6 21-07-2010 12:10 AM
What to use to clean heatsinks and cpu's Kingfisher Hardware Peripherals 2 09-10-2009 11:52 AM


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 05:01 PM.