Go Back   TechArena Community > Hardware > Official Kingston Forum
Become a Member!
Forgot your username/password?
Tags Active Topics RSS Search Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 18-11-2013
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 102
problem with Kingston HyperX 8GB and Asus P5Q3

I am using a 2gb of ddr2 ram in my Asus P5Q3 motherboard. I wanted to upgrade the RAM so I purchased the Kingston HyperX 8GB ram for this motherboard. But after properly seating the RAM in the motherboard the computer wont start at all. I thought that this RAM was compatible with my motherboard, have checked it on crucial website so why is it not working? Any ideas
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19-11-2013
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,427
Re: problem with Kingston HyperX 8GB and Asus P5Q3

Can you please tell us in which RAM slot you are trying to install the Kingston HyperX 8GB memory? Since this kingston ram is 1600mhz so it will only work in the Orange slot of the RAM on your motherboard. You can check the technical specifications of your motherboard model by going to this link - http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/P5Q3/#specifications
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20-11-2013
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 804
Re: problem with Kingston HyperX 8GB and Asus P5Q3

If the above tips are not working then you will need to manually set the speed and timings of the RAM. If the RAM that you have doesnt have XMP profiles or support then you are supposed to face such problems. Its timing might be at 1.65v and you will need to manually set this timings in the bios settings. Download a tool called CPUz to find out the timings of your RAM by searching it on google.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21-11-2013
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,170
Re: problem with Kingston HyperX 8GB and Asus P5Q3

Well, it will be time for you to upgrade to the latest BIOS inorder to run the 1600mhz Kingston HyperX 8GB RAM. You also need to change the FSB to 1600 or much higher. If this doesnt work then try DRAM voltage to 2.0, NB to 1.26 and lastly also raise CPU voltage to 1.30. Check if the RAM works now, if not then probably you will need to replace it with a compatible RAM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

  TechArena Community > Hardware > Official Kingston Forum
Tags: , , , ,



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads for: "problem with Kingston HyperX 8GB and Asus P5Q3"
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kingston ValueRAM with ASUS P5Q3 Sakineh Official Kingston Forum 3 24-10-2013 11:25 AM
Asus Z87-a wont boot with kingston hyperx blu Rikin J Official Kingston Forum 3 21-09-2013 12:01 PM
Kingston Hyperx Red compatible with Asus Z77 Abhijoot Official Kingston Forum 3 16-07-2013 11:36 AM
Kingston Hyperx Blu memory with Asus M5A97 issue Harbira Official Kingston Forum 7 19-06-2013 05:00 PM
Using Kingston hyperx 1866mhz memory in Asus g74sx-xr1 Dipanwita Hardware Peripherals 4 26-11-2011 10:40 PM


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 01:32 PM.