Go Back   TechArena Community > Hardware > Official Kingston Forum
Become a Member!
Forgot your username/password?
Tags Active Topics RSS Search Mark Forums Read

Sponsored Links



Kingston HyperX Genesis memory question

Official Kingston Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 27-09-2013
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 36
Kingston HyperX Genesis memory question
  

I am going to buy a new set of RAM for my computer so I was thinking to go with the Kingston HyperX Genesis 1600mhz 4gb RAM. But I was having a small doubt about this RAM. Does anyone know if this memory can run at 1.5v or 1.65v with the core i7 processor that supports above 1.5v I guess? Thanks for any suggestions

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28-09-2013
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,196
Re: Kingston HyperX Genesis memory question

What motherboard do you have? If you want good set of RAM then go with the G.SKILL Sniper memory which runs at 1600mhz and is extremely fast. The 1600mhz is also recognized very soon on the board once you attach the RAM into the motherboard. If there is some heavy utilization then you will also not face any system crash with this RAM.
__________________
Windows 7 Review
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30-09-2013
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 227
Re: Kingston HyperX Genesis memory question

Note that you should install the Kingston HyperX Genesis RAM in the orange slot of the motherboard to get full 1600mhz or above. Also, this RAM will not work with the XMP profiles since nothing it mentioned in its specs. So, to achieve 1.65v the timings for the RAM 9-9-9-27 is to be set manually in the BIOS settings. You can even check the settings in Windows by using CPUz software. More information can be found on this RAM here - http://www.kingston.com/dataSheets/KHX1600C9AD3_2G.pdf
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-10-2013
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 835
Re: Kingston HyperX Genesis memory question

If the timings are not set properly then this RAM will only run @ DDR3 1333mhz speed. You will need to get in the AI tweaker inside the BIOS and set the Dram frequency to ddr3 800mhz and you will also have to configure the FSB strap also since the board will try to sync the FSB and dram speeds, so hopefully this should work for you.
Reply With Quote
Reply

  TechArena Community > Hardware > Official Kingston Forum
Tags: , , ,



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads for: "Kingston HyperX Genesis memory question"
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kingston HyperX CL11 or Corsair CL9 Memory Unerring Official Kingston Forum 3 21-08-2013 11:35 AM
Difference between Normal Kingston Memory and HyperX LFC18 Motherboard Processor & RAM 8 27-06-2013 03:30 PM
Kingston Hyperx Blu memory with Asus M5A97 issue Harbira Official Kingston Forum 7 19-06-2013 05:00 PM
Among Kingston HyperX Blu & HyperX Genesis which one is better Meherr Official Kingston Forum 7 10-06-2013 02:23 PM
Kingston HyperX Fan - New Memory Cooling Fan Hardwareman Hardware Peripherals 1 03-06-2009 07:48 PM


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 10:48 PM.