Thread: Is it possible to embed a virus in hardware

Is it possible to embed a virus in hardware

I am studying on certain security aspect of computers. Here the virus normally effect through software's. You get a email attachment manifested with malware or Trojan. Now in future as technology is expanding, does it is possible to have a virus inside hardware. I am talking about a virus hardware like a small chip on your motherboard, that can sniff your data. This would be not at all possible to remove. Today manufacturers blindly add certain chips on PC board without checking the involved vulnerability.

Re: Is it possible to embed a virus in hardware

That is not yet possible. Software level infection are most common today. You can get easily infected through games, updates, pirated software, email, etc. But on hardware level this is very smart thinking and someone has to plant the chip at production level.

There is no information on that yet available. Neither any one has complaint that they got a virus which comes from a motherboard chip. It is possible. A motherboard is produced in a different country. If a establish manufacturer is in USA, he does not setup production factory in this country. To reduce the cost, they go for cheaper alternative. A country where they get cheaper labor and resources. That is the reason a number of manufacturing is done through China and other related countries. In a virus spreading scenario, a hacker makes a fake app or some kind script which is distributed in number of forms.