Thread: How to run debian without chroot on Lacie Network Space 2

How to run debian without chroot on Lacie Network Space 2

I just thought installing debian on Lacie Network Space 2 as it would be beneficial if I make use of this OS. But I was a newbie to this process. I however managed to get through it and was successfully able to boot into the installer. But I was receiving some kind of message.
    Code:
    No kernel modules were found. This probably is due to a mismatch
    between the kernel used by this version of the installer and the
    kernel version available in the archive.
    If you're installing from a mirror, you can work around this problem
    by choosing to install a different version of Debian. The install 
    will probably fail to work if you continue without kernel modules.
    Continue the install without loading kernel modules?
    Some error message like Cannot install kernel appears and I am with two options such as go back and continue, but however , when I continue to install it however fails during the base install.so guys are you having any idea regarding running debian without chroot on Lacie Network Space 2 . please assist me.

Re: How to run debian without chroot on Lacie Network Space 2

Why don’t you try with Debian chroot install on LaCie Network Space 2 as you might get your desired output. As I have tried this solution and managed to install Debian testing and access it by means of ssh on Lacie Network Space 2. You can go this way if you are intending to install Debian with chroot on LaCie Network Space 2.

so you need to create chroot enviorment on your existing debian machine.
    Code:
    # debootstrap --arch armel testing ./testing-armel-chroot
    2)then you will require to Rsync the whole bundle on your Lacie Network Space 2 , for example /shares/MyShare/testing-armel-chroot

3) you will be having an symlink chroot destination /shares/MyShare/testing-armel-chroot to /debian