Thread: Connectivity and Transferring files through LAN cable.

Connectivity and Transferring files through LAN cable.

I want to connect 2 systems in network. I am new in this field so think I have asked such a foolish question. I want to connect the system and transfer some files from one another. How can I transfer files. Only LAN cable is enough or I require the network switch. Please do explain me how to do network settings?

Re: Connectivity and Transferring files through LAN cable.

You can connect the systems with the help the LAN cable and you don’t require the switch. If you are using a normal cable then it won’t work at all, you will require a crossover cable. The crossover cable connects the 2 systems. Connect the cable to the systems and in your screen it will display as connected at 100Mbps. After than got to my computer and select the drive from which you want to transfer the files. Select the drive and right click the mouse button, from the options select properties. In that select the sharing tab. Go to network sharing and security and in that put tick mark on the share this folder to network and also check on allow this network users to change my files. If you don’t check the second option then you will be allowed to access the drive but it will not allow you to copy or delete anything from that drive. Click apply and then click ok to complete the networking process. After the completion you will be able to view the drive in you’re my computer. If not then go to my networking places and in that select the view network connection. In that you will be able to see the name of the computer and the drive.

You can also map the drive after connecting it to the network. For mapping you will require 2 system and a crossover cable. Connect the system and here are the steps to map the drive.
    • First open my computer or windows explorer.
    • Go to tools menu and select map network drive.