Thread: Cables and speed limits Range extending,

Cables and speed limits Range extending,

I am an electrical engineer by profession. I'm looking to extend the maximum range of my network equipment. I have a job that requires about 500 "flanked by the switches, and I'm annoying to discover a clever way to reduce the gap. The time is cat5e direct burial and is about the bandwidth requirements low. I know you can buy off the shelf range extenders, but they are expensive, so I thought maybe I could help it.

1. It is my understanding that the protocols of lower speed (10 Mbps instead of 100, 1000) have a maximum length of operation longer, because they use a lower frequency and therefore see a low impedance. If so, are there network switches that can be forced to use lower frequency bands?
    2. Should not bother trying to find a cable with the lower characteristic impedance (or that all are similar)? Cat 5e is good enough, right?
    3. What should I do half or full-duplex, that is something I can control as well?
    4. What the network switches are reasonably priced and allow this type of configuration?
    5. If I put other switches on the ends of these 500 Ethernet bridge auto-negotiation function, there will be no conflict or that all along?

Re: Cables and speed limits Range extending,

Sorry, I'm going to make use of meters, not feet.

1. 10 Mbps, 100 Mbps, 100 Mbps and are certified by 100 meters. Beyond anything that might work, and is not likely 10Mbit can work, but no warranty and it would not be following regulations that may represent a valid way to avoid paying for the project.
    2. Cat5e is pretty good. Cat6 is better, STP.
    3. You can control this and certainly should choose Full Duplex, as this gives more bandwidth and no collisions, something to keep in mind when using larger lengths.
    4. Since the bandwidth of low need, maybe some refurbished equipment.
    5. All about auto-negotiation should work, and is recommended.