Go Back   TechArena Community > Technology > Networking & Security
Become a Member!
Forgot your username/password?
Tags Active Topics RSS Search Mark Forums Read

Old 12-05-2011

Norton using 60% CPU after upgrading

Here's my trouble which no one at Norton assist can solve. I upgraded from NIS 2009 to NIS 2011. As then, about one time a week to 10 days I discover my laptop fan running packed out and the CPU usage on the task manager to be frozen at 60 per. This is all extreme, Norton. I have stopped up to 1 day for this to discontinue, and it won't, the just way to end this is to reboot. Later than the reboot it is nice for a week after that the trouble persists. I have installed NIS, by means of the Norton un-installer and reinstalled it. The trouble remains. On this PC the OS is Windows XP SP3 home. Does anybody have any thoughts? I have been utilizing Norton products since 2002 without such an incidence.
Old 12-05-2011

Re: Norton using 60% CPU after upgrading

While you upgraded from NIS 2009 to NIS 2011, how was the upgrade completed? I would suggest that you uninstall the program totally and methodically. Please obtain your key from Norton account. Please back up your identity safe file if you utilize that function. Please download and save NIS 2011 and Norton Removal Tool to your desktop. Please choose the correct Norton product which you wish to remove. As well please be conscious that it will eliminate all Norton products, so back up Identity Safe with the program to back that up.
Old 12-05-2011