Thread: DELL XPS 15 (L501X) and Retrofitting WWAN

DELL XPS 15 (L501X) and Retrofitting WWAN

I have ordered a new DELL XPS 15. I'm improving from a XPSM1530 that has given me two years of outstanding service. I am a software engineer field so my laptops end up in some highly volatile environments. Separately from having to glue and patch things back up (especially aluminum housing), with some pieces of the screen and be on my second battery, the 1530 is still going strong! The display of the tape has just in progress to make known what means they will have to go away, even though (or is retired to the pile of parts).

Re: DELL XPS 15 (L501X) and Retrofitting WWAN

Is there any possibility that someone with a WWAN L501X could pop the lid back and let me know if the WWAN slot is there and if the two wires are there prepared to connect the WWAN card? If not, I'll have to give Dell a toast! I've managed to find a couple of YouTube videos showing the back, but it is complicated to see if the cables and channel is there. Clearly, the 5520 might not work even if it is connected (I think I need the 5540), but worth a try.

I also have XPS L501X. I have read and thought 5540 was only compatible with the card to buy one off eBay, along with a pair of small antennas to try. Mount the game first and then the SIM card drivers and smooth - all working. Only real problem is that the signal might be improved to find the option of factory-mounted antennas, but cannot find all the links and suggestion on what to buy. I have only 2 or 3 bars on my mobile, but only one bar on the laptop which makes it viable here at home, but could be unreliable elsewhere. In addition to the GPS is not locked in so there need a better antenna. Anyone know if I can order parts from DELL knowing that the warranty is void if I open to install - hey I've been fixing laptops for many years