Thread: how do i remove trojandownloader:java/openconnection.mu ?

how do i remove trojandownloader:java/openconnection.mu ?

This was found on my computer using Windows Live Onecare scanner, but that program couldn't get rid of it.
    My McAfee doesn't even find it.
    I've googled on how to remove it and find next to nothing except ads for buying more antivirus software. I've already got antivirus software so I don't see how adding more will help?
    My computer has been running slower and acting oddly so I'm pretty sure it is infected.
    I'm no computer expert, does anyone know if this can be removed and can anyone tell me directions on how to do so in as easy to understand directions as possible? I would be very grateful for any help!

Re: how do i remove trojandownloader:java/openconnection.mu ?

What you can do is restart your pc and boot into safe mode and then scan your system fully. You can also try to launch fgc32.exe and fgc64.exe file process and delete it manually to eradicate the virus. You also need to update your antivirus definitions to the latest so that it can pick up the viruses occured in your pc. For more information read here - How to remove TrojanDownloader.Java virus

Hello,
    I think I need further help.
    I rebooted in safe mode and ran a full system scan with McAfee- it found nothing.
    The 2 files that are mentioned as needing to be deleted are not coming up when I do a search for them on the computer. Would they be hidden somehow?
    I updated my antivirus yesterday and today before scanning and it still isn't finding it.
    The other link you posted suggested downloading F Secure anti virus, which is the software I just had before McAfee and that wasn't able to find the malware either (though I never scanned that one in safe mode.) The only scanner finding it is Windows Live Onecare, but that can't seem to fix it.