Thread: Stateless protocol v/s stateful protocol

Stateless protocol v/s stateful protocol

I am a student of IT pursuing the BScIT in a well known institute , despite pursuing this course I am not that much interested in the development at all , I was rather concerned in the networking , I had a subject relevant to that in my one of the semesters but there were la lot of topics I could not understand due to my extra activities in my college , on of them was that Ip protocol is a stateless protocol and TCP/IP is a stateful protocol , what does that actually mean ,what is the actual difference between the both , can anyone please elaborate on the same .

Re: Stateless protocol v/s stateful protocol

The difference is in the character of the connection they describe between a client and a server .Telnet and FTP, for instance are stateful protocols The client unites to the server, carry outs a series of operations by means of that connection, and then then terminates the connection . Then server can connect all of the requests mutually and is aware that they all came from the similar user.

HTTP protocol is a Stateless Protocol.It is related with the with requests and responses, which are uncomplicated, isolated transactions.This is ideal for straightforward web browsing, where every request normally results in a file(an HTML document or a GIF image etc) being propelled back to the client. The server does not require to be familiar with whether a series of requests arrive from the same, or from diverse clients, or whether those requests are relevant or separate.