Thread: How is packet fragmented in TCP/IP protocol

How is packet fragmented in TCP/IP protocol

I am a networking student ,although I am an IT student , I do not have much interest in the programming and I was wanted to learn a bit about the the protocols being used in the sending and receiving of data , right now I am most concerned with the TCP and IP protocols , since we do not have much use of the UDP . So my question is how and why is the fragmentation required in this protocol , does not it affect the packet and its content. I am waiting for your response .

Re: How is packet fragmented in TCP/IP protocol

Like you I am too an IT student I too do not have much interest in programming and all that stuffs , so I too have opted networking rather than going for the coding, you asked about the packet fragmentation , in this process the packet is divided into several parts before it is being transferred . The fragmentation is done at the receiver's end and then the packet is de fragmented and again assembled as a whole packet at the receiver's end. This is mostly done in almost every protocol but I am not quite sure about it.

It is mentioned in the above post that the packet is fragmented and assembled again at the sender and the receiver's end respectively , but I would say that it is an incomplete explanation, the question is why it is needed. If you ask me the fragmentation is done on the basis of MTU , if any Packet is sent over a network but the all the time its size is not been accepted in all the networks , so for that reason it is being divided and at the end it is being collected.

In computer networks , the maximum transmission unit (MTU) of a any networking protocol is the total bytes of the largest protocol data unit that any layer can send forward . MTU limitations typically come into view in connection with a communications crossing point (NIC, serial port, etc.). The size of the MTU is determined during the time of the connection.