Thread: How is TCP protocol a reliable protocol ?

How is TCP protocol a reliable protocol ?

I am a BE student and till now I am learning programming language. But in further second semesters I will have computer networks. I have heard that my college teachers does not teach well. So I want to know a bit about the networks, so I will start with the TCP/ IP first. I know a bit about it. It is a upper level protocol and is a bit safe than IP protocol can any one explain in brief something about these protocols.Waiting for your replies.

Re: How is TCP protocol a reliable protocol ?

TCP protocol is a connection oriented , upper level and reliable protocol. TCP stands for transfer control . It is an higher level protocol and is used with lower level protocol such as IP and both are combined to form a TCP/IP protocol. TCP/IP protocol sends the data in form of packets. This packets are of definite size and contain the actual data and the TCP/ IP header with an option. The size of the header will be of 20 bytes without the optional part. If it contains the options, the size of the header will be of 60 bytes. If you want to calculate the size of the actual data the you can deduct the size of the header file from the total size of the packet