Thread: Difference between LAN and WAN

Difference between LAN and WAN

I am new to this forum, so please ignore my mistakes. I have recently started studying about the networking. Actually I am new to the computers (I am having basic knowledge about it). I know about applications like MS Office, Photoshop, Corel Draw, etc. but not having knowledge about the hardware and networking. My friend told me that you members reply very appropriately, so I thought to register and post some queries over here. Please help me. Since, I am newbie, explain me with some basic concepts.

Re: Difference between LAN and WAN

The term LAN (local-area network) defines a network, or part of a network, in which the various devices that are part of are all located within the same building or more than adjacent buildings (distances in 'order of hundreds of meters).

The term WAN (wide-area network) defines a network, or part of a network of devices which also placed at points distant from each other. The definition of "far" is relative of course but in our context we say that we can consider as a WAN network as part of the wiring must extend outside of the buildings owned by a single company / entity (distances in the order of several km).

Two computers that want to communicate need half "physical" to transmit and receive data and the most commonly used is a copper cable. Once you get the half the two computers need a hardware to which the cable can be connected in question said "Network Adapter" often mentioned in the schedules with the acronym NIC (Network Interface Card).

Meet the previous requirements 2 computers are able to "talk" but also so that they can "understand" is necessary, as happens to people who speak the same "language" and to meet this demand several international bodies have established over the years a series of standards to which every producer of network equipment must comply if it wants their devices are capable of interfacing with all the others.