Thread: How can i disable this folder is shared with other people message

How can i disable this folder is shared with other people message

I have 2 laptops and both are running on windows seven. Both of them is connected by wifi on livebox and they have fixed ip. There no antivirus software installed in the system. The first question is does i can disable the folder shared with the public. The message keeps on popping in between which is pretty annoyed. I am new to Windows 7 so for that I need some help related to folder sharing.

Re: How can i disable this folder is shared with other people message

Usually that is not possible. The behavior for the message is made by design and it popups on indication. I am not aware about any policies and settings that might disable the same. You might need to entirely stop file sharing on your network which might help you to deal with the problem. The feature integrated in Windows 7 is automatic and I don't think there might be settings for this.

For such Samba Server is the best option. I will recommend this for LAN support. With this you can use Server Message Block. So here it is possible to efficiently mix a network with other Linux Workstation and Windows system. By this file sharing becomes much secure and easier. The configuration is also not a issue.

Select the folder you want to share and it is recommended to the root of your hard disk partition and then right click on it to choose the properties Tab. Go under sharing and then click on Share. Then if you want you can add either Everyone or Group Residential Computer depending on your needs. You can then go in Advance sharing for further configuration of the folder.