Thread: what is router and what is its role in internet speed?

what is router and what is its role in internet speed?

Hi guys i am just a beginner so please tell me "what is router and what is its role in internet speed?"

Re: what is router and what is its role in internet speed?

A router is a network device that interconnects two or more computers in the network and sends data packets between them. You can also consider as a device whose task involves forwarding information. It plays an important role in Internet speed because it is the only device that provides you internet connection and if you are having any kind of problem with this device then you won't be able to use internet anyhow.

Hi -
    I am a Cisco Employee, we have some great resources that explain networking and how it works.

How Routing and Switching Keeps the Business Going

Building a Small Business Network

Basic Networking What You Need to Know

I hope this helps!

Dawn

Quote Originally Posted by BiGMaCHiNe View Post
    A router is a network device that interconnects two or more computers in the network and sends data packets between them. You can also consider as a device whose task involves forwarding information. It plays an important role in Internet speed because it is the only device that provides you internet connection and if you are having any kind of problem with this device then you won't be able to use internet anyhow.