Thread: Backtrack Wifi problem

Backtrack Wifi problem

Hello,
    I am new in Back Track 3 and General Linux. I would like to use this OS to test different attacks on the networks we create classes. This will also allow me to familiarize myself with the Linux world and discover the full potential of this OS. I have an Eee PC 901 and I created a bootable USB key with BackTrack 3 in editing "syslinux.cfg" for BT3 appears correctly on my screen. As explained in the tutorial on installing BT3, I created my partitions and I've formatted. I am now downloading the install, I just can not connect to my wifi! Via wlassistant I see networks around me but I can not connect to it. Any help regarding this is appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Re: Backtrack Wifi problem

Hello,
    Even I do have a similar kind of a problem.I can now connect to a WiFi.
    I typed:
    Code:
    dhcpcd ra0-n then I started wlassistant.
    There it connects to my neighbor's network (unsecured, in the first the list) but when I try to connect to mine or another, it gives me the same error. I saw that there was a way to add "pre-order" in the options of my wireless network. So I added dhcpcd-n but this does still not always the same error. Any help is appreciated.

Hello,
    wlassistant (and perhaps even wpa_supplicant) seem buggy in backtrack 3: it can not obtain information using DHCP. Try to configure everything by hand (so I was obliged to do) or better: try back track 4. And just for info: installing BT3 in drive is not recommended in the general case. If you need more information regarding this topic then you can post back.

Hello,
    Or worse, you connect the console, it's not very complicated, and it is the kind of thing that is supposed to work under any distribution. You can even make you a little shell script to automate all this. Apart from that as said in the above post, the installation disk is not really for, I will advice instead of making you a live usb persistent.

Hello,