Thread: Need information on TACACS

Need information on TACACS

Hello there, I am relatively very new to networking field and hence I need some information from you people. The company which I am working with wants me to handle VPN accounts and authenticate them with Active directory. I have heard this can be easily done using TACACS. Therefore I need some information about TACACS. Also are there any alternatives available for TACACS? Any suggestions/solutions are more than welcome. Thanks in advance.

Re: Information on TACACS

TACACS is a remote authentication protocol which is communicates with the authentication servers. TACACS is basically used to check whether the user has access to the network or not. Whenever a user wants to use the network, he will enter the username and the password. This username and password will be forwarded by the TACACS to the authentication server. The authentication checks if the user is eligible for use of the network and sends an appropriate response. Depending on the response of the authentication server, the user is granted or denied the access to the network.

Re: Need information on TACACS

As the TACACS used TIP to authenticate the session of the user, it was considered as unreliable. Therefore more advanced version of TACACS was developed which is known as TACACS+. TACACS+ is completely new protocol and is not compatible with TACACS. TACACS+ uses the Transmission control protocol to authenticate the user session. As TCP is considered as the most reliable protocol due to handshaking feature TACACS+ is considered as a reliable protocol to control access to the network.

Re: Problems with TACACS+