Thread: Sony Laptop cannot connect to Buffalo Wireless router

Sony Laptop cannot connect to Buffalo Wireless router

Hello there, I have an Internet connection which is connected to the desktop computer which is installed with Windows XP on it. The Internet connection is provided to the computer from a Cable modem which is connected to the Buffalo router which is inturn connected to the computer. The buffalo router has Wireless capability. Recently I bought a Sony Vaio Laptop which is running on Windows 7 operating system. The problem is Sony laptop does not connect to Buffalo wireless router. I tried many times to connect to the router but all in vain. The wireless network is not seen on the Sony laptop. As I have limited knowledge of networking I cant figure out what the problem is and hence need your help in solving the issue. Any help is highly appreciated.

Re: Sony Laptop cannot connect to Buffalo Wireless router

Many Internet service provider do not allow the sharing of same Internet connection between two computers. If the sharing of the connection is not allowed by the Service provider then you will not be able to another computer to the same connection. Internet service providers track the MAC address of the computers which are using there services. This helps the ISP's to differ the services to the computers connected to its connection. Therefore even if you connect the laptop to the network, you will not be able to access Internet on the laptop.

Are you sure the Wireless capability is enabled on the router? The Router with Wireless capability means that the Router can be used in Wireless mode if required. Therefore to use the router in Wireless mode it is necessary that the Wireless capability of the router should be enabled. Once the Wireless capability of the router is enabled, the wireless network of the router will be seen by the laptop and you will be able to connect to the router without any problems.